Moulin Rouge

Thank you for curing me of my ridiculous obsession with love!” spoken by Ewan McGregor  in the 2001 musical drama film Moulin Rouge.

Duh-rama! Set in the turn of the century Paris in the Bohemian yet derelict district of Montmartre, Moulin Rouge centres around the Bohemian ideals of truth, beauty, freedom and love. Christian and Satine struggle to hide their forbidden love which results in one of the most memorable and devastating climaxes in film history. This film remains an all time favourite solely because the entire film is produced on a such an inconceivably grandiose scale and is nothing short of spectacular spectacular. Baz Luhrman is truly a genius. Additionally, this film is just too deliciously dramatic for words. Violence, passion, obsession and distressed hookers all are heavily present in Moulin Rouge and should not be missed.

It is hard to forget Christian and Satines’ struggle even after that credits begin to roll. The score which occurs during the credits is haunting and reminiscnent of Luhrman’s overarching vision for the movie. Check out below.

Baz Lurhman’s Bolero:

I have watched this movie perhaps more than any other and every time I leave wondering why I put myself through this pain. No matter how many times I watch this, Nicole Kidman always dies. It’s frustrating. However, the music, visuals and compelling love story continue to draw me back. It seems I will be haunted by Christian  and Satine until the end of my days.

Why you are gasping again Nicole? Why?!

This story is about

Truth, Beauty, Freedom

But above all,

Love

    • Toni-Raine
    • July 16th, 2012

    One of my favorites ever too. Perhaps this is why it was the film of choice at many a video evening. That Roxanne gives me the chills, everytime!!

  1. you’ve made me want to watch it again with this great review 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

