Cloud Atlas

Cloud Atlas is definitely one of the films I am most excited for. Recently I came across the five minute trailer, which to date, has been one of the few insights into the secretive project. What we do know about Cloud Atlas is that it is based on the best-selling novel by David Mitchel and is being directed by the Wachowskis as well as Tom Tykwer. The novel consists of six nested stories that are intertwined throughout various time periods in past and future human history. The official film synopsis describes the film as “an epic story of humankind in which the actions and consequences of our lives impact one another throughout the past, present and future as one soul is shaped from a murderer into a saviour and a single act of kindness ripples out for centuries to inspire a revolution.”

Sexy Screenshot Number 1

What attracted me to this film though is the amazing trailer. The ensemble cast is fantastic and includes names such as Hugo Weaving, Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Susan Sarandon, Hugh Grant and Ben Wishaw to name a few. From what I can tell, this film looks like it’s going to be an epic and emotional journey whilst exploring the reincarnation of the characters souls across varied time settings. Besides that, the soundtrack is pretty! The trailer also features Outro by M83 which is just stupidly beautiful. It does things to me.

I have watched this trailer countless times, and it still moves me every time. I especially love the dystopian future setting with the rebellious clone character. It looks AMAZING. However from what I can tell, the novel’s structure sounds complicated and I hope that the Wachowski’s and Tykwer can translate this effectively to screen. The Wachowski’s are responsible for The Matrix trilogy as well as V for Vendetta, which has been previously reviewed on Popcornography (click here). Tykwer, on the other hand, is responsible for great project such as Run Lola Run and Perfume: The Story of a Murderer. I thus have faith that this film will not disappoint. However, only time will tell.

Clones in future dystopian societies excite me 

Cloud Atlas is released on October 26. Be excited. And if you aren’t excited, watch the trailer. If you are aren’t excited after that then I can’t help you and you should go back to your Mandy Moore movies.

For welcome shivers, check out the extended trailer for Cloud Atlas. 

    • Poseletso
    • August 24th, 2012

    Let’s comment how great this is…. I’m excity in my pantsy

    • Ladasha
    • August 28th, 2012

    Dystopian: I wish popcornography would tell us what this means. I would google, but this is more fun

    • “A dystopia is the idea of a society, generally of a speculative future, characterized by negative, anti-utopian elements, varying from environmental to political and social issues. Dystopian societies, usually hypothesized by writers of fiction, have culminated in a broad series of sub-genres and is often used to raise issues regarding society, environment, politics, religion, psychology, spirituality, or technology that may become present in the future.”

      Boom! It’s a bad society yo.

    • Emilio
    • September 14th, 2012

    This excites me. Very very much so!!!!!

  1. My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was entirely right.

    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine simply how much
    time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment